Curtin Writers Club respectfully acknowledges the first inhabitants of the nation and the traditional custodians of the lands where we live, learn and work, the Whadjuk people of the Noongar nation. We wish to acknowledge and respect their continuing culture and the contribution they make to the life of this city and this region. We also acknowledge the traditional custodians of the various lands on which we are all located. This is stolen land and sovereignty was never ceded. We pay our respects to elders past and present.


Curtin Writers Club is the Curtin University club for writers and writing. We are also the academic club representing the courses of Creative Writing, Professional Writing and Publishing, English and Cultural Studies (formerly known as Literary and Cultural Studies) and Journalism. We are a not-for-profit and volunteer-run student organisation who welcome all forms of writing. 


Curtin Writers Club won Best New Club in 2017 and has consistently scored a place in Curtin Student Guild's annual Club Mega Challenge.


Membership is open to anyone and costs $5 or one Curtin Student Guild club voucher, available for free to Curtin University students. You can purchase membership via our website or at any of our events. Membership gives you the opportunity to publish your writing in our annual literary print publication Coze Journal, performance opportunities at our poetry slams and other events and access to our member-exclusive Facebook group and Discord server where we share local writing events and publishing opportunities. The club is not-for-profit so all money goes toward catering, venue hire and printing costs.


Coze Journal is Curtin Writers Club’s annual literary print publication, which collects writing by club members, as well as illustrations by members of CWC and Curtin Illustration Club. Each issue has a theme. Publishing your work through Coze is a great way to gain experience and confidence as well as knowledge of the editing and publishing process. You can also add this information to your resume and LinkedIn which will help you be accepted for other publications.


We hold writing and poetry events, collaborative events and workshops, editor workshops, Coze Workshops and other social events, as friendship and community are important for writers. They’re a great opportunity to make friends, gain valuable feedback and learn about writing in a safe and supportive environment. 


We have been featured in a number of articles, including:


Curtin Writers Club is proud to collaborate with:


The best part of our club is the friendship and community. Many members have told us they felt welcomed from the start and met the majority of their friends at university through the club. Clubs are a great way to meet people who share common interests and regularly hang out together.


Connect with CWC on social media:


2024 Committee​

  • President: Haylie Ventouras

  • Vice President: Louise Kaestner

  • Secretary: Sophie McWilliams

  • Treasurer: Sergio Muirson

  • Editor-in-Chief: Cheyenne Valero

  • Deputy Editor: Alexander Hazell

  • Typesetter: Bennie Playford

  • Editors: Asya Asyali Moral, Isabelle Biondi Saville, Joleen Jia En Chong, Cameron Davis, Nikki Doan, Indara Gentle, Rose Hopper, Jennifer Le, Bridget Lee, Charlotte McGowan, Cheree Navales, Sam Newton, Molly Ophelia, Lachlan Peterson, Yuhan Wang and Jonathan Yeak.


2023 Committee​

  • President: Louise Kaestner

  • Vice President: Haylie Ventouras

  • Secretary: Natalie Pek Ing Yeo

  • Treasurer: Audrey Foote

  • Editor-in-Chief: Cheyenne Valero

  • Social Media Manager: Devahuti Chaliha

  • Typesetter: Bennie Playford

  • Editors: Razanne Al-Abdeli, Isabelle Biondi Saville, Joleen Jia En Chong, Isabella Colton, Cameron Davis, Stephanie Duncan, Alexander Hazell, Reuben Karanja, Charlotte McGowan, Lachlan Peterson, Sean Phay, Sophie St John and Yuhan Wang     


2022 Committee​

  • President: Lauren Bradford

  • Secretary: Hojeswinee Kanagarajah

  • Treasurer: Annie Mills

  • Editor-in-Chief: Abigail Carson

  • Social Media Manager: Devahuti Chaliha

  • Typesetter: Keerthana Manoj

  • Deputy Editor: Cheyenne Valero

  • Editors: Emily Brown, Tyler Fleming, Jesse Galea, Shannon Gillespie, Niamh McConnell, Lindie Naude and Jade Woodhouse


2021 Committee​

  • President: Lauren Bradford

  • Vice President: Caroline Brettig

  • Secretary: Catherine Hall

  • Treasurer: Annie Mills

  • Editor-in-Chief: Robyn Lunn 

  • Social Media Managers: Devahuti Chaliha and Mali Merttens 

  • Assistant Secretary: Sonaa Aneja 

  • Deputy Editor: Abigail Carson

  • Editors: Ashlie Ballantyne Wallis, Dante Boffa, Megan Chow, Rylee Dow St Clair, Tess MacGregor, Lindie Naude, Sofia Scaturro and Cheyenne Valero

  • Online Representative: Jess Broadbent


2020 Committee

  • President: Theodora Rohl

  • Vice President: Jewel Hazeldine Swe

  • Secretary: Catherine Hall

  • Treasurer: Clare Metcalf

  • Editor-in-Chief: Robyn Lunn

  • Social Media Manager: Madison Ainsworth 

  • Deputy Editor: Ashlie Ballantyne Wallis

  • Editors: Abigail Carson, Lauren Donis, Lindie Naude, Anshu Pande, Charlene van der Merwe and Jade Woodhouse

2019 Committee

  • President: Max Vos

  • Vice President: Sean Chapman

  • Secretary: Catherine Hall

  • Treasurer: Loke Leng

  • Editor-in-Chief: Jade Joynes

  • Social Media Manager: Elisha Gray

  • Editors: Nikita Binetti, Robyn Lunn, Simeon Neo, Jewel Hazeldine Swe and Charlie Wright

2018 Committee

  • President: Kai Schweizer

  • Vice President and Editor-in-Chief: Max Vos

  • Secretary: Caitlin Gava

  • Treasurer: Loke Leng

  • Social Media Manager: Jade Richards 

  • Editors: Nikita Binetti, Cassandra Elliott, Jade Joynes, Simeon Neo and Georgina Sweeting

2017 Committee

  • President: Andrew Allsopp

  • Vice President: Max Vos

  • Secretary: Ella Thomas

  • Treasurer: Penelope Walker

  • Editor-in-Chief: Armelle Davies

  • Marketing Manager: Siana Wardell

  • Social Media Managers: Rachelle Erzay and Alex Ridley

  • Editors: Jay Anderson, Elizabeth Baca and Matthew West

  • Workshop Coordinator: Kathleen Knight

  • Designer: Zahra Loot


Curtin Writers Club adheres to The Safe Spaces Agreement provided by the Curtin Student Guild.


Screenwriting Workshop

  • Wed, 01 May 2024
  • 5:00 PM – 8:00 PM

This workshop is a collaboration event between Curtin Writers Club and Curtin Film Society, build... More Details

Flash Fiction Workshop

  • Thu, 16 May 2024
  • 11:00 AM – 2:00 PM

Michael Buckingham Gray has kindly donated his time to teach valuable skills on how to create awe... More Details

Curtin Student Guild